The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 11-10-2020, 08:33 AM

Default Any fountain pen users out there?

While we are living in a digital age, the written word still has value.

I’ve been dabbling in fountain pens for a couple years. I like the way they feel and I have to slow down when I write, which, in some cases, actually makes my handwriting legible. I like to use them to write cards and notes, take meeting notes in my professional book, write the occasional check, work on lyrics in my song book...it’s a nice alternative to my typical go to writing utensil, a standard black Papermate Flair felt tip.

I’ve never spent more that $100 on a pen. My favorite has a medium stub nib. It is awesome in so many ways....perfect ink flow, great writing angle, holds a ton of ink. I have no idea where I got it or what brand it is. I dropped the cap under my desk a while ago and it went the way of the missing sock. I cannot find the blasted thing. I found a clear plastic cap from a yellow highlighter that fits, but it’s not going to win any beauty contests.

My questions:
  • If you’re a fountain pen person what attracts you to its use?
  • What are you currently using?
  • Generally speaking, how much was it?
  • Can you recommend a retailer that has a great selection?
  • Finally, where can I get a great everyday stub pen that I’d be proud to own?

Thanks!
Old 11-10-2020, 10:05 AM
Charter Member

Not a fountain pen user perse but I'm thinking about becoming one. I don't write a ton other than initialing and dating documents at work and the few other things you still need to write for here and there. And I am a 'pen snob' in that I typically need to find just the right pen to use at work.