The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-20-2015, 01:47 PM

Default Washburn D11 acoustic, need parts, need help

i recently purchased a Washburn D11 dreadnought acoustic. they dont make this exact model anymore - i cant find it online anyway. the guitar is in excellent condition, no warping, cracks, etc. barely used, if at all. its beautiful, but the last owner took some parts off it.

i was really excited about it, as online people say it has a unique sound being made from Ash.

i need to buy tuning machines and a nut for it, as it came without them, and
i thought mistakenly that it would be cheap to replace.

I'm a FT student, on a student budget...what replacement parts should i get to replace these missing parts so that i still have a quality guitar at the end of this? i haven't a clue what machines to get. the nut i'm assuming is pretty standard and cheap. thanks for the help.

also, i'm thinking about replacing parts and just reselling it, so does that change your recommendations?

mostly i'm concerned with buying parts that are going to fit this guitar. i'm a newbie and haven't a clue about whats right and wrong fit.

i do know about ratios, although the 18:1 and up seem pricey.

i can post pictures later if it will help.

thanks everyone.

PS. the local guitar center is charging me an arm and a leg for these items, they said $100 for machines, strings, nut; that's with used parts. when its all said and done, i could've bought a pretty nice brand new beginners guitar setup for that price. i had called and asked about repair pricing b4 purchase, but obviously asked the wrong questions.
Old 11-20-2015, 04:03 PM

Default Washburn Parts

First off, welcome to the forums!