The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 06-13-2018, 11:26 AM

Default Why no fret markers on classical guitar???

I recently started playing an older Garcia classical guitar and am curious as to the absence of any fret markers. Is this common on classical guitars? And if so why? I’ve seen photos of classicals with no markers on the face of the fretboard, but also have seen at least a couple that did have them but only on the edge. Mine has none, and to be honest it’s been a bit difficult so far. I find I’m mostly ok up to about the 6th fret, but then I start to lose track. Is there any advantage to learning on a guitar without them? I’ve been thinking about whether I should just add one at the 7th to help me locate, but figure I’d ask here and see what those more familiar with classical playing thought first?

Thanks,
Jeff
Old 06-13-2018, 11:55 AM
Charter Member

Same reason that there's no markers on a violin or viola or cello etc. Classical instrumentalists by their very nature read music, and do not "spot" themselves visually on their instruments.
Old 06-13-2018, 01:17 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthpawJeff View Post
I recently started playing an older Garcia classical guitar and am curious as to the absence of any fret markers. Is this common on classical guitars? And if so why? I’ve seen photos of classicals with no markers on the face of the fretboard, but also have seen at least a couple that did have them but only on the edge. Mine has none, and to be honest it’s been a bit difficult so far. I find I’m mostly ok up to about the 6th fret, but then I start to lose track. Is there any advantage to learning on a guitar without them? I’ve been thinking about whether I should just add one at the 7th to help me locate, but figure I’d ask here and see what those more familiar with classical playing thought first?

Thanks,
Jeff