The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 09-04-2020, 12:41 PM

Question Grit & Gluing?

I have seen it debated before whether a finer or rougher grit is better for gluing surfaces. The argument almost always seems to lead to as to whether glue joints are more mechanical or chemical in nature.

I am no scientist (nor do I play one on the internet) so I was just wondering from all of your first hand experiences which method do you subscribe to, and what is your reasoning behind it?

Personally intuition tells me that glue joints have both a mechanical and chemical action at play and that is what bonds the surfaces, but that still doesn't let me know which is better functionally. Rough grit or fine grit (hand plane)?

Thanks.

Nahil.
Old 09-04-2020, 12:49 PM

It's chemical bonding so the closer the pieces fit the better.

What I thought you were going to say by the title was this, something that someone mentioned here once and I thought it was interesting... That an old wood working trick to keep pieces from swimming away when you clamp them up is to add a few grains of sand. THe sand bites into the two work pieces and holds them from slipping... But I digress

The old school way was to scratch the bridge up. You can see this when repairing very old guitars. But all it really does is make the joint weaker. Voids filled glue have no strength.
Old 09-04-2020, 01:13 PM

Around WWI there was a tremendous amount of research done on what glue joints hold better with the rough vs. smooth. The research concluded that a cleanly planed surface is the strongest glue bond at least for hide glue. Check out how they scarf joint ship masts for a good example of solid gluing technique.