The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 10-18-2013, 11:05 AM

Default Let's talk Weissenborn

I started playing lap steel a few weeks ago, with a regular acoustic guitar converted to lap style with a nut extender. I'm having a blast with it.

I would really, really like a Weissenborn style instrument. Not much information out there about these. Manufacturers seem to fall into two categories: asian imports at a $1k-ish price point (Gold Tone, Anderwood, etc.), and handmade American instruments at $3k and higher (Asher, etc.)

I tend to like nicer stuff. Any lesser-instrument I've ever bought has soon been replaced with a high end model. However, without actually playing any Weissenborns, it's hard to make a value judgement on how good the high-end ones are, or how bad the imports are.

Any advice on where I can even go to play one? Anyone in Atlanta have one that I could try? I have been in-store or looked at the websites for Maple Street, Elderly, Mandolin Brothers, Rudy's... have yet to see a single one I could even try.

1943 Gibson J-45
Martin Custom Shop 000-28 Authentic Aged 1937
Voyage Air VAOM-4
IBG Epiphone J-200 Aged Antique

Last edited by Aaron Smith; 10-19-2013 at 06:30 AM.
Old 10-18-2013, 11:57 AM

Not much to add except that I am going through similar journey.
In my case I own a Regal round neck spider resonator, it has been modded with Quarterman cone and a good set up by my guitar tech.
At the moment I am too using it as a dobro, have the nut extender, D'Addario heavy gauge strings and it works great for lap style.
Still I am thinking of getting a lap steel dedicated instrument. Seems sweet spot with Asian made weissenborn instruments is $1500 or so, there are a few to choose from in this price range, new and used. Some of the other high end instruments are well out of my price range.