The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-24-2013, 07:49 PM

Default Strumming and Flatpicking with Closed Right Hand

I've been experimenting with this for the past week now and I'm definately sold on strumming with a closed hand. My hand feels like it's alot more free as opposed to strumming with an open right hand lightly brushing the pickguard. I think I'm getting a better sound on my strums too, although I'm not sure why. The feel I'm getting is just so much better, my playing feels more dynamic and I'm all of a sudden being more creative with my strumming patterns, it's great!

Little background: I've been playing for about 10 years now and have always thought the best way to go about it is to do what comes natural and that's what I've been doing, until I hit "the wall". For the past 2 years I've been playing mostly Bluegrass (lovin' it!), and as most of you know speed is a major factor. When it gets to a certain speed, I have alot of tension, both flatpicking and strumming. I need to be more economic with my technique.

Then there is flatpicking single notes without posting my pinky finger lightly on the pickguard. I am severely struggling with this. No accuracy at all. My hand feels a lot more free and I can definately see the benefit of sticking with it, IF I can get the hang of it in the end. Little worried I might be wrecking my playing because going back somtimes and planting a finger almost feels awkward and restricting now. Wondering if it's worth going one step backwards for a while to maybe take two or three steps forward in the future.

What works best for you? I'm sure there are folks out there that play both ways, but as anyone made a conscious effort to change from being a planter? Tips?

Thanks for any help!
Old 10-24-2013, 07:59 PM