The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-14-2020, 10:34 AM
Charter Member

Default Bigger sounding smaller body guitar?

I am looking for a box that is smaller in the hand but sounds big to the ear. I am new to the guitar world but have jumped in, both feet, with no life vest.
Just a year ago, I bought my first guitar, a lovely Larrivee 000-40 RE custom. Without knowing really what it was, it has proved just perfect, especially the size. Then late last year, wanting to try a dread size box, I found a Bourgeois Slope D 12 fret. It is a great instrument in so many ways, but it feels like I am hugging a bear, or what I imagine that be like. If it was my first guitar, I probably would not have known any better. But the 000 size is just perfect in my arms. And the dread less so.
I have since looked at a variety of body shapes and sizes - Concert, Grand Concert, 0000, unique and others - until my eyeballs bled.
I have read many reviews of smaller (aka parlor/00) size guitars that seem to defy physics and sound bigger. I am not interested in that size. But I would love to have a 000-size guitar (short scale? 12 fret?) that has the voice of a bigger guitar, particularly on the bass end. To that end, are there makers, wood combinations, neck lengths that I should explore. I have to say, it has been a very enjoyable trip down the rabbit hole....
Thanks
David
Old 02-14-2020, 10:59 AM

This is a super common question we all ask at some point.

Are you looking for better sound from the players position or the audience?