The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 03-01-2011, 07:52 AM

Default Rode NT1-A - worth the upgrade?

Hi guys,

I have the MXL 990/991 pair and was thinking of upgrading to the Rode NT1-A, but I wanted to hear from people who have owned both if there is a difference that is worth the investment.

Thanks!
Old 03-01-2011, 08:26 AM

Well, if you only want to hear from people who've owned both, I'll keep quiet for a while. If not enough people chime in, I can post some of my thoughts. I don't have many thoughts nor do I have extensive experience with both - so don't think I'm holding out on you lol. I just don't want to pollute the thread too early
Old 03-01-2011, 08:28 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Whigham View Post
Well, if you only want to hear from people who've owned both, I'll keep quiet for a while. If not enough people chime in, I can post some of my thoughts. I don't have many thoughts nor do I have extensive experience with both - so don't think I'm holding out on you lol. I just don't want to pollute the thread too early
Feel free to chime in!
Old 03-01-2011, 08:44 AM

Well, like I said, I certainly don't have loads of experience with either but I have recorded with both. I think the Rode NT1A is in a different league personally. However, I actually like the NT2A better on acoustics for instrumental flatpicking (what I do). Having said that, the Shure SM81 would be my pick in that price range for my own playing. Have you considered one of those?
Old 03-01-2011, 11:52 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Whigham View Post