The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 05-07-2018, 07:35 PM
Charter Member

Default "These Days" by Jackson Browne (cover)

This is my cover of Jackson Browne's song "These Days." He wrote this when he was 16 years old, which seems astounding to me.

The song seemed so poignant when it was performed by Glen Campbell near the end of his life.

Glen Campbell is playing this with no capo in the key of D. Jackson Browne plays this song these days (pun intended! ) in the key of D also, but with capo on the 2nd fret in C.

I was so taken with Glen Campbell's performance that I started out doing this song in D with no capo, but then I studied Jackson Browne's approach and decided that when playing this song solo I preferred the voicings available to me in the key of C. So in the end, I played this fairly close to how Jackson Browne plays this.

I hope you like this -- thanks so much for listening and commenting!

- Glenn
Old 05-07-2018, 09:06 PM
Charter Member

Really nice Glenn.

Sad Moments {Marianne Vedral cover}:

My SoundCloud page

Some steel strings, some nylon.
Old 05-07-2018, 11:31 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by TBman View Post
Really nice Glenn.
Thanks Barry!

I'm glad you are listening! Thanks for your comments!

- Glenn
Old 05-08-2018, 04:39 AM

Stunning !

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkomGsMJXH9qn-xLKCv4WOg
Old 05-08-2018, 04:48 AM
Charter Member

That was just beautiful! I enjoyed it. Nice little fingerstyle you had going. It's hard to imagine writing that at 16, but Browne's quite a talented guy.

Very nicely done.
Old 05-08-2018, 08:10 AM
Charter Member

Great stuff, Glenn!

This is an iconic song for me. I really connected with Jackson's music when he was writing it (I was a teenager, and he not much older), and this one still resonates.