The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 11-19-2020, 10:13 AM

Default Archtop following Benedetto design

With the lockdown in the U.K. in March I decided to build a few arch tops. Twenty yrs ago I started buying tone wood, I bought two Archtop sets of quilted maple from Canada, birds eye maple for two necks and two sets of Sitka spruce from the USA. I'm a hobby joiner or carpenter but decided to buy some locally sourced sapele or mahogany to practice the art of constructing an Archtop guitar following the Benedetto book. I overcame most of my mistakes on the prototype and the guitar sounds ok. I then built two Guitars with the quilted maple and Sitka spruce tops which worked out just fine and gave one to my brother.
I made a fourth Archtop from the mahogany and Sapele that was left over from the Prototype which again sounds fine, the tone and sound is probably the best. I understand that quarter sawn is less susceptible to splitting and the quality of the wood is paramount for stability and longevity.
My question is considering I have built four guitars from the same mould and dimensions why do the two mahogany Sapele guitars have a richer and fuller sound? I would like to post photos but the photo icon it asks for a url.
Old 11-28-2020, 11:10 AM

I'm surprised no one has commented. First, let me say that I haven't built an archtop, but I would guess the back and side materials are the main factor. My experience is, maple tends to be very transparent and does not 'color' the sound of the top. It can be sterile, so to speak. Mahogany tends to add a warm tone that gives very good fundamental without a lot of overtones. At least this has been my experience with flat tops.

Brent
Old 11-28-2020, 06:52 PM
Charter Member

Smile This is the place

If folks here can't answer these questions I will be very surprised!!