The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-22-2009, 05:26 AM

Default A little help with thumb fretting

I've been trying to use my thumb to fret the 6th string. My thumb actually reaches the 6th string but I just can't seem to apply enough force on it. Consequently, it buzzes when I play.

When I just started playing the guitar, I seem to need to use more strength to fret. But when the calluses appeared, I seemed to need less strength. Might some calluses help too when thumb fretting?
Old 07-22-2009, 05:39 AM

Funny you mention that...I use my thumb fairly frequently on the 6th string and never thought about callus formation. However, examining my thumb, there is a little toughness there but nowhere near the calluses on my finger tips! I think the key to using your thumb is placement. Try to get placement as close to the fret as possible. If the placement is too far behind the fret, there is insufficient vertical pressure at the string-fret interface to prevent the string from sliding horizontally on the fret, thus resulting in buzz.

ReverbNation (originals)

SoundCloud (the Hobo Troubadour)
Old 07-22-2009, 07:42 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel1703 View Post
I've been trying to use my thumb to fret the 6th string. My thumb actually reaches the 6th string but I just can't seem to apply enough force on it. Consequently, it buzzes when I play.

When I just started playing the guitar, I seem to need to use more strength to fret. But when the calluses appeared, I seemed to need less strength. Might some calluses help too when thumb fretting?
Hi daniel...
Unless the action on your guitar is high, or the neck very fat, or your hand very small, fretting the 6th string with the thumb is not a gargantuan effort.