The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 09-07-2021, 04:07 PM

Default Flat versus radiused neck

I am a novice player with a steel string Martin DJR acoustic. Looking for a "crossover" nylon string guitar. I like the Kremona S62C op 7/8 size but emailed Sean Henry the importer and found that it has a flat neck. I realize most classic guitars have 2" or wider flat neck, but since my Martin is 1.75" nut with radiused fret board I have to ask how does flat versus radius neck affect "playability"?
I also like the Cordova Fusion 5 which has a 48mm nut (1 7/8") and a radiused fret board, but it has a cutaway which I don't like.
Old 09-07-2021, 05:26 PM
Guest 928

I have had no problem in playing flat boards. If there are stores near you that carry guitars you might try out some flat fretboard classical guitars--even if the nut width is more than you like, you'll be able to get a feel of the flat board. You might even like it. Did you ask Henry if you could order the Kremona with some radius?

I was able to order my Kremona Sophia with a different face wood, no electronics, and a different rosette. The only problem was that it took a while to get the guitar.
Old 09-07-2021, 07:50 PM

Thanks for your reply Evan. I did not ask about special services. I might do that. My wife has a 30 year old Yamaha CG150S classic guitar with a flat
fret board and a 52mm nut. My short fingers/small hand is not comfortable playing it.
Funny, in my mind I would think a radiused fret board would be harder to reach around/over than a flat fret board. Will have to research this.
Old 09-07-2021, 08:02 PM
Guest 928

Yeh, a 52mm nut is a bit of a reach. I suspect that if that was what you were raised on you might find it OK. I have good sized hands and started with classical guitars but jumped to 1 7/8" as soon as I was able.
Old 09-08-2021, 06:57 AM