The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-12-2021, 06:15 PM
Sage97 Sage97 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GA
Posts: 7,504
Default Weird recording problem

For some reason, I can't seem to get my Apogee Duet to record any of my 4 SDCs, a pair of Gefell M300s and a pair of Studio Projects C4. I don't have any problems with my LDC (Rode NTK) and it works on either of the Apogee input cables.

I've switched mic cables and even got a new one and they all work with the LDC, just not the SDCs. It doesn't appear to be an interface problem since the LDC works perfectly. I've already exited out of Garageband, turned the iMac off and back on etc.

Do mics ever give out without any physical trauma? But all 4 of them? Maybe it's a sign that I need to pick up another hobby.
__________________
"Dreams are the answers to questions that we haven't figured out how to ask." - Mulder
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2021, 06:27 PM
Yamaha Man Yamaha Man is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,688
Default

is the phantom power on ?
__________________
Yamaha LL 16 D
Takamine F340
Guild F-2512 Deluxe CE


Formerly known as Martin Maniac.....









M
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2021, 08:41 PM
jim1960 jim1960 is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,953
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sage97 View Post
For some reason, I can't seem to get my Apogee Duet to record any of my 4 SDCs, a pair of Gefell M300s and a pair of Studio Projects C4. I don't have any problems with my LDC (Rode NTK) and it works on either of the Apogee input cables.

I've switched mic cables and even got a new one and they all work with the LDC, just not the SDCs. It doesn't appear to be an interface problem since the LDC works perfectly. I've already exited out of Garageband, turned the iMac off and back on etc.

Do mics ever give out without any physical trauma? But all 4 of them? Maybe it's a sign that I need to pick up another hobby.
Try this... get the Rode working. Then just swap mics without turning anything on or off (just lower the volume to avoid any popping). Don't change cables, don't change where you're plugging it in. Just pull the Rode from the end of the cable and connect one of the other mics.
__________________
Jim
2017 Circle Strings 00 bastogne walnut/sinker redwood
2015 Circle Strings Parlor shedua/western red cedar
2009 Bamburg JSB Signature Baritone macassar ebony/carpathian spruce
2004 Taylor XXX-RS indian rosewood/sitka spruce
1988 Martin D-16 mahogany/sitka spruce


SoundCloud link
Spotify
YouTube
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2021, 08:50 PM
runamuck runamuck is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,837
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim1960 View Post
Try this... get the Rode working. Then just swap mics without turning anything on or off (just lower the volume to avoid any popping). Don't change cables, don't change where you're plugging it in. Just pull the Rode from the end of the cable and connect one of the other mics.
Excellent advice.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-13-2021, 12:15 AM
rick-slo's Avatar
rick-slo rick-slo is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 14,930
Default

The Rode NTK has it's own power supply unit. As mentioned phantom power probably off thus the other mikes are not powered up.
__________________
Derek Coombs
Youtube -> Website -> Music -> Tabs
Guitars by Mark Blanchard, Albert&Mueller, Paul Woolson, Collings, Composite Acoustics, and Derek Coombs
Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-13-2021, 05:37 AM
jim1960 jim1960 is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,953
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rick-slo View Post
The Rode NTK has it's own power supply unit. As mentioned phantom power probably off thus the other mikes are not powered up.
Ahhh... great observation. That's very likely the issue. Never having owned one, I didn't know that about the Rode.
__________________
Jim
2017 Circle Strings 00 bastogne walnut/sinker redwood
2015 Circle Strings Parlor shedua/western red cedar
2009 Bamburg JSB Signature Baritone macassar ebony/carpathian spruce
2004 Taylor XXX-RS indian rosewood/sitka spruce
1988 Martin D-16 mahogany/sitka spruce


SoundCloud link
Spotify
YouTube
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-13-2021, 05:41 AM
Yamaha Man Yamaha Man is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,688
Default

ya I've had the same problem myself, resolved by simply turning on the phantom power switch.
__________________
Yamaha LL 16 D
Takamine F340
Guild F-2512 Deluxe CE


Formerly known as Martin Maniac.....









M
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-13-2021, 06:59 AM
Sage97 Sage97 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GA
Posts: 7,504
Default

Dang, how did I not check phantom power? Will check when I get home later today. Thank you everyone.
__________________
"Dreams are the answers to questions that we haven't figured out how to ask." - Mulder
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-13-2021, 05:25 PM
Sage97 Sage97 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GA
Posts: 7,504
Default

Well, I almost gave up when I turned on phantom power but still nothing. I don't exactly know what I did but after messing around with Garageband a little longer, the whole thing turned back on. Whew! Maybe there's a ghost (phantom?) in my machine?

Thank you very much gentlemen for all your help.
__________________
"Dreams are the answers to questions that we haven't figured out how to ask." - Mulder
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-13-2021, 06:47 PM
Rudy4 Rudy4 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,851
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sage97 View Post
Well, I almost gave up when I turned on phantom power but still nothing. I don't exactly know what I did but after messing around with Garageband a little longer, the whole thing turned back on. Whew! Maybe there's a ghost (phantom?) in my machine?

Thank you very much gentlemen for all your help.
It usually takes up to several seconds before mics stabilize under phantom power and a bit more time for some DAWs to get the message that there's an active input signal.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-13-2021, 07:39 PM
Sage97 Sage97 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GA
Posts: 7,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy4 View Post
It usually takes up to several seconds before mics stabilize under phantom power and a bit more time for some DAWs to get the message that there's an active input signal.
Makes sense. Thank you.
__________________
"Dreams are the answers to questions that we haven't figured out how to ask." - Mulder
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-14-2021, 08:40 AM
KevWind's Avatar
KevWind KevWind is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edge of Wilderness Wyoming
Posts: 15,587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sage97 View Post
Well, I almost gave up when I turned on phantom power but still nothing. I don't exactly know what I did but after messing around with Garageband a little longer, the whole thing turned back on. Whew! Maybe there's a ghost (phantom?) in my machine?

Thank you very much gentlemen for all your help.
Yes gremlins haunt the digital ether and pop in and out of the situation rather capriciously
__________________
" Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding." Albert Einstein
Enjoy the Journey.... Kev...


KevWind at Soundcloud

Recording System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.6 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-15-2021, 04:25 PM
Sage97 Sage97 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GA
Posts: 7,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevWind View Post
Yes gremlins haunt the digital ether and pop in and out of the situation rather capriciously
What canít they make me sound like James Taylor?
__________________
"Dreams are the answers to questions that we haven't figured out how to ask." - Mulder
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Thread Tools





All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=