The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 12-26-2010, 10:45 PM

Default Favorite Keys

I've been playing the guitar for 20 yrs. That being said there keys I don't like to play in....am I the only one that is this way? (favorite keys are. A, E, D, G, not in any order sometimes C)

I bought in August a new DC-15E with the intent to learn how to be able to play in all of the keys without the use of a capo. I'm finding this is more

of a commitment than I had imagined. I first thought it was a lack of dedication on my part, but as I think more about it....is there a reason I

must learn to play in flat keys? Keys I really don't care for! I can only see that I would need to be able to play in these keys if I was playing in our

church band. Which I'm not and have no intention of being. I guess what I'm asking are there keys even you advanced players, or professional

players don't like or rarely play in?

Another thing I've noticed my favorite guitar player Willie Nelson never

seems to play a song in a b key. Am I hurting myself in someway by not being as efficient in Eb as the key of G? Sorry for the ramble.

Regards, Tony
Old 12-26-2010, 10:52 PM
Whippersnapper

I like C and G. I really dislike A. I can't get my changes to flow as nicely in A, so I generally capo up 2 frets and play in G. I do the same for flats. I like capos and I'm not afraid/ashamed to use them. I use them quite a bit, too, because I play at church, and I also try to keep all songs in their original key if possible.

Bel isi,
-kyle
www.kurtscobie.com
Old 12-26-2010, 11:09 PM
Eric Skye