The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 08-06-2022, 03:22 PM

Default upgraded my amp rig...

[IMG][/IMG]

I added a Rane Compressor and EQ to my Fender Go amp....sounds great....you can hear a sample here....

https://waynekraft.bandcamp.com/trac...ing-sun-sample
Guild F-2512 Deluxe CE
Ibanez Acoustic Bass 12 M1
Martin 12 string X Series
Harley Benton Telecaster
EVH Wolfgang

Formerly known as Martin Maniac.....

M
Old 08-06-2022, 06:29 PM

I surely hear the compressor doing its thing. To have that much eq is sweet for tone shaping too.
Old 08-06-2022, 06:58 PM

I'm just getting started tweaking things, I need to experiment a little, you're right about the eq, I can take out honks very easily, and add sweeteners as I like, it sounds pretty sweet already !!! I just put new strings on it today...nanoweb custom lights........
Guild F-2512 Deluxe CE
Harley Benton Telecaster
EVH Wolfgang

M
Old 08-07-2022, 02:56 AM

I've been down this rabbit hole several times and would suggest the outboard EQ and compressor are overkill in the outside world.

The wonderful upside is that you will become acquainted with how every frequency band is represented in your guitar sound and having one knob per parameter is a great way to discover the joys of compression but the settings required for gigging are very different to what sounds good at home.

Having learned the niceties of EQ and compression and how the various numbers relate to real life I suspect you'll find that the often opaque menus (which you will now understand much better) in most decent multi-FX boxes will do the job more effectively and ergonomically.

However, happy hunting. It's a lot of fun, and a proper head-wrecker.
Old 08-07-2022, 05:47 AM