The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 04-18-2019, 10:39 PM

Post Rainsong CH-OM: Initial Review

10 days ago I received a CH-OM1100NS from Ted & Helene at LA Guitar Sales, who were terrific. It’s my first Carbon Fiber guitar, but I’ve been playing & working on guitars for 20 years. The stability of CF was certainly the primary factor, b/c of the temperature & humidity where I live & travel. That said, I’ve played enough Rainsongs to know I like their tone. I was really excited when the Concert Hybrid series came out, since I love the Rainsong NS neck, and I don’t have a ton of money.

Initial Impressions:
After 10 days to really play with the Rainsong, & I’ve been very impressed. My first thought after opening the excellent case, was that the guitar is beautiful. The unidirectional top reminds me of Obsidian Falls in Oregon, water running over black rock. The result combined with the weaved back & sides is stunning. The Inlays are subtle & flawlessly executed, and the overall fit & finish is superb. The edges of the soundboard seamlessly blend to the back and sides. It’s an understated, yet elegant instrument, and a fascinating blend of modernity & tradition.