The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-18-2018, 08:55 PM

Default Tuning your guitar

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1F...ciTtA/viewform

Hi! I am a student at Lehigh University and for an entrepreneurship class project I am looking to see how people tune their guitar and their suggestions on a better method! Please take this 2 minute survey to help me get a better idea on what the best way to tune your instrument is!
Old 11-18-2018, 09:03 PM
Charter Member

Done. I think clip-on tuners (e.g., Snark) are hard to beat. Good luck with your project.
Gibson J-45 Standard
Breedlove Pursuit Concerto CE
Takamine F400S 12-string
Yamaha FG800
Citation CIT8000 "The Survivor"
Electrics:
Fender Standard Stratocaster (2004)
Old 11-18-2018, 09:12 PM

Done!

I was actually wanted to post a thread about tuners, but Ill give it a go here:

Why do most people still use dedicated tuners (clip on, soundhole) to tune their instruments?

I use an app called 'instrument tuner' and it gives me readings accurate to the cent, and also includes the frequency, accurate to 2 decimals. I back checked this to frequency generators to check that it was accurate (some other apps were off, so make sure to use a reference!) and it was.

Im part of a younger demographic here, so I will always have my phone on me 24/7, making it convenient for me. I could see some older folks here who dont use their phones as much, and would use the tuners. fair enough.

I also find that the phone's mic picks up surrounding noise so its hard to use in loud or public spaces. Fair enough. Not a tool for those who are performing or gigging.

If you use a pitch pipe/tune by ear/dont typically use an electronic tuner, fair enough. if it works for you, it works.

Any other reasons you use a tuner instead of apps?
Old 11-18-2018, 09:15 PM
Charter Member

Quote: