The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-13-2020, 05:23 AM

Cool Getting new gigs in today's venues

Hello All. I am retired and finally recovered from shoulder surgery, which has forced me to stop performing for the past year. Without discussing the impact of COVID, I am looking to get back into gigging, but have ben getting TOO much confusing input on how to get gigs. I live in the Raleigh NC area, and I am a 69 yr young musician.

I play cover music from the 50's through the 2000's, and want to do community events, wine lounges, clubs, parties...I.e. the usual.

Here is my question: Has Gig searching stayed the same? Do I need a website, a facebook page, Walking the streets and knocking on doors, uploaded youtube videos, First gigs are free....???

I did a studio CD and passed it around, but it did not pull very much.

You may respond to me here or at [email protected].

Side note: Am I too old to perform at these places and have to stick to senior locations only?

Thanks and blessings to all....MJ
Old 10-13-2020, 07:44 AM

I haven't searched for gigs in a long time, I've been working pretty steady for 10 years. I never play for free if anyone else is making money. Doing that just sets your rate ... zero to nothing.

I'm 66, and finding my audience is tough. "Our crowd" doesn't go to bars and clubs very much. Friends of mine work the "nursing home circuit", and that was lucrative, sometimes multiple gigs in a single day. But that's been changed by the pandemic, and those gigs aren't there anymore. Not something I cared to do, either.

Live music ain't what is used to be, and doesn't come with a paycheck anymore. Those days are long past.
Old 10-13-2020, 10:07 AM

Here's what worked for me, albeit this is all pre-2020: