The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 02-25-2022, 10:14 AM

Question UPDATE: Newbie to CF - Travel Suggestions

I've played a few CF guitars, while visiting Elderly Instruments, but I was not serious for one at the time. I was generally impressed with them. I'm a newbie to the CF world.

My husband and I have a 30' motor home (B+) that we take trips in, and I also attend a couple dulcimers festivals each year. So, I like to have a guitar with me. I have a GS mini-e Koa Plus, which I love at home, but it's even a little big for our motorhome (we have a small closet for the Instruments, and the guitar has to share room with the dulcumers). I also have a Martin LXK2 which is decent for my purposes. But, I've often wondered if there's a CF out there that would serve my purpose. Here's some parameters:

1. I'm an exclusive fingerpicker (with fingerpicks)
2. I love the Taylor slim neck profile
3. I can tolerate both a 1 3/4" and a 1 11/16" nut width
4. Budget is less than $1,000
5. Looking for nice tone
6. Don't care for the ones with removable necks

Is there a CF guitar I should take a look at or are my parameters out of the question?
Again, please be kind to a newbie.
Have been finger-pickin' guitar since 1973!
Love my mountain dulcimers too! (7 Mountain Dulcimers)

Last edited by ifret; 03-07-2022 at 10:41 AM.
Old 02-25-2022, 10:41 AM
Charter Member

It's the $1k budget restriction that is going foil you. Even used you're going to be lucky to find something that low.

The Journey line might get you down there (used) but you don't like the detachable neck. Of course you can always leave it attached. They do make a model that has a fixed neck although I have no experience with them.