The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 07-22-2018, 10:17 AM
Charter Member

Default Scratching the Jam Itch

To scratch that particular itch, I've recently started attending a local "opry house" that meets every week near me. If we don't have a gig booked or something else going on, I head out there. Nobody gets paid. It's an open mic kind of thing with a back up group that plays along if they know or can pick up on the song.

I performed a couple of times but this place is seriously counnnnn-try, as in Carter Family and Gospel. So I really didn't know any material I could perform that would satisfy the tastes of the attendees. But I started playing with the back-up band, which is really more fun. The performers come up there and I have no idea about the song other than the key they tell me. After a few measures I lock in and off we go.

Many of the performers are not ready for prime time, but the people in the back up band (it's who ever shows up) tend to be very good. We have bass, banjo, mandolin, dobro and several guitarists, one of whom used to be a studio musician for CBS back in the 60s. Great people to jam with. So gig or no gig, I get my music fix every week.
Old 07-22-2018, 12:39 PM

I attend a local jam almost every week. It really is a place for anyone who wants to come and play and sing. This is not a formal business such as a coffee house, etc. A local Fire Department allows us to use their facility free of charge which is a really nice gesture on their part. We do place an offering container out for anyone who desires to drop a dollar or two in. All of the money collected is then given to the Fire Department as a contribution for their operating expenses and a token of our appreciation.