The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-16-2017, 01:50 PM

Default What's been your experience with vintage acoustics?

I can't stop thinking of questions so I'll limit this thread to just the actual guitar and try and ask open ended questions.

Have you owned more than one? What were your favorites and why? How did you find them? Pretend I'm an interviewer or a psychologist waiting with long drawn out pauses trying to extract greater detail. I want to hear anything and everything about your experience.

I'm starting a piggy bank for a dream guitar. I'm hunting a great white buffalo - solid wood 30 years or older that got tuned up and played regularly. I'll likely have to sink a fortune into repairs.

I only get one shot at this. I'm not going to be able to try a few out or wait for a Taylor to age. There aren't really great resources out there for this kind of thing so any morsels you have will be greatly apprciated!
Old 01-16-2017, 02:03 PM

I've had pretty extensive experience with them over the last 30 years. Ask plenty of questions, neck reset, cracks, etc. What has been replaced, if you can't tell. But I would only buy if I could play the guitar in person first. Too many hiddens unless you really know your stuff. Know your budget and if there is any work that needs to be done, add that into your cost. My current fav is my Gibson J45 from 1964, it had a crack on the top but I knew it could be cleated easily so I jumped on it. The guitar was bought new in 1965 and was never played, sat in a closet for 55 years. The wood was already dried out and with the lack of damage, other than that crack, it was a great find.
Old 01-16-2017, 02:17 PM