The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 05-04-2015, 04:57 PM

Default Zoom A3 - My thoughts after 2 months with it.

I have been playing around with the A3 for a few months now. I just finished playing a series of shows with it concluding this past weekend. I felt it was time to weigh in with a review. I hope this helps anyone out there who may be considering buying this unit. I bought it and own it, partly because I really like my Zoom G5 which I use in my electric rig, but mostly because it really suits my purposes when I play out live acoustically. I play 3 instruments live (Nylon Guitar, Godin Acoustic guitar with high tension strings tuned Baritone (E is C), and ukulele) in my acoustic act, and changing instruments has always been a PITA up to now. The zoom will allow me to plug both my Nylon and my Godin into it, and it will even provide Phantom power to my Godin as well. This was the driving reason that I bought this thing. I think, for 200 bucks, this thing serves as a very, very quiet DI with built in Phantom power, feedback killer, and volume booster. The effects in the unit are for me.. secondary.. a happy addition that enables me to further enhance my sound.