The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 09-12-2013, 09:39 AM

Default Humidity with an acoustic guitar

I have a Taylor 114CE Acoustic/Electric guitar. I'm in western mass where it has been extremely humid. I'm a college student so I'm living in a dorm with no A/C and not able to have a dehumidifier. Any suggestions as to what I should do to keep my guitar in good condition? I can already notice the action rising a little.
Old 09-12-2013, 09:44 AM

Your real challenge is going to come during winter as you struggle to keep the humidity high enough. That can be done with in-guitar/in-case humidifiers.

I wouldn't worry too much about the higher humidity levels now, as they won't last long, being September. No permanent damage will result from short-term exposure to higher humidity: permanent damage can result from low humidity.
Old 09-12-2013, 10:43 AM
Guest316

Quote:
Originally Posted by SantoP13 View Post
I have a Taylor 114CE Acoustic/Electric guitar. I'm in western mass where it has been extremely humid. I'm a college student so I'm living in a dorm with no A/C and not able to have a dehumidifier. Any suggestions as to what I should do to keep my guitar in good condition? I can already notice the action rising a little.
Right now where I live we're going through a monster rain/thunderstorm thing where rh is 85+. I use Planet Waves Humidipaks in the Hummingbird case and rh is running 49% in the case. Some people don't care for them, but they're designed to regulate rh correctly in both low and high humidity areas. In my experience (about 4 months in the Hummingbird case) they are working very well.
Old 09-12-2013, 12:36 PM