The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 05-23-2023, 05:36 PM

Default First Ever Guitar build (or any instrument)

Hi. Im attempting to build a guitar! I have never done anything like this before and have been reseraching this forum and others for months and decided its time to try my hand.

Here is a pic of my 1st rosette. Its Wenge, purple heart, and abalone. Its not sanded other than rough so far.

Here is the 1st thing I made. Its my neck, curly maple with wenge. Its a rough block unsanded / shaped.

I am currently gluing in the braces, I will post pics of that soon. Back and sides will be wenge, i have them cut on my new bandsaw. What else... I have the back cut out but unglued. Getting close =)

Thank you for checking out my noob work, any comments, advice, suggestions I would love to hear them!

Thanks for looking!

Edit: Oh the top is stika spruce "light weight" from Alaskan Specialty Woods.
I used all hide glue from international violin.
Old 05-23-2023, 05:44 PM

I am going to try and make the neck without a head plate so my wood shows instead of putting a plate over it and covering the nice maple up.

I got some blonde shellac flakes in today. I also ordered some Nitro Cellulose. Unsure which to finish it with. French Polish or Spray the Nitro.
Old 05-23-2023, 08:14 PM

Got bracing glued in. I will sand that HHG glue down, it looks bad. Working on shaping the braces down. I made a 50' radius jig and router'd the tops of the braces and glued them in place using a caul with a 50' radius. The tone / finger bars were glued flat. I will radius the UTB to around 25' if i remember correctly. I am basically mimicing other greats that I have been watching here. We will see.

those are pencil marks that have yet to be sanded on the ends, they look like splits in the photo but are not.
Old 05-24-2023, 08:07 AM