The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-30-2018, 11:08 PM

Red face Washburn Comfort Mini (WCGM15SK) feedback? Other questions, too...

I am a petite woman with small hands (yes, you've heard this all before) just starting guitar lessons. I work on a computer all day, too, so really want something that's going to be easy to learn and play.

I have narrowed it down to the Taylor GS Mini, the Washburn WCGM15SK (AKA comfort series mini) and to be honest, the little Marin (the LX1). I like the feel of the little martin, but the sound of the GS Mini (it's the mahogany one) and like the feel and sound (but a little tinny, maybe?) on the Washburn. They are all in the same price range.

I am a true beginner. I have played the piano. I'm 41, have a full-time job and two kids, so it will be many years before this guitar needs to be replaced (I think). Just wanted to give you some idea of the wear on this guitar. Comfort is key, but they all "seem" comfortable to me.

Any opinions on sound? Quality? What say you??
Old 01-30-2018, 11:10 PM

Default Also...

It also looks as if the Washburn is made of higher quality materials (all solid wood, etc.). However, not paying for big brand? But again, I know nothing. Hence, coming to you all!

Thank you in advance!
Old 01-31-2018, 01:47 AM

I’ve owned the little Martin. It was comfortable and fun to play. But Sonically they are lacking and as you progress I think you would become frustrated with its limitations.

The same goes for the Washburn there’s always going to be that compromise with sound.

The GS Mini is by far the best sounding of the 3 and sounds closest to a full sized guitar, however have you considered a parlour sized guitar?