The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 08-07-2015, 08:57 AM

Default Absolute Beginner Here

Hello everyone,
I'm an adult learning to play guitar for the first time (I've also never played any instruments). I have a Yamaha FG700S guitar. I just started lessons yesterday, and it's harder than I even expected! One thing I'm struggling with is getting my fingers to form the chords and pressing down enough so the note will sound without just thunking or buzzing. My instructor suggested I use a capo to help while I'm still learning (and can then continue to use for key changes later).

Any tips or suggestions for this newbie? Thanks!
Old 08-07-2015, 09:02 AM

Hello and welcome! Glad another is taking on a great hobby. The capo will definetely help. I would also suggest messing around with different elbow and arm positions on your fret hand (your non strumming hand). This can often allow you to get better finger placement so that pushing down on the fret becomes a little easier. Although it may feel uncomfortable or strange it had helped me specifically with barre whords when I started.
Old 08-07-2015, 09:02 AM

#1 - Get the name of a good guitar tech in your area and have a proper setup done (unless you are playing a rental). A properly set up guitar should play as easy as one with a capo on it. Your instructor should know that.

If you are playing a rental consider getting your own and doing #1

#2 - Check out Justinguitar.com for free instruction

Good luck!

Ibanez, Recording King, Gretsch, Martin
G&L, Squier, Orange (x 2),
Bugera, JBL, Soundcraft

Our duo website - UPDATED 7/26/19
Old 08-07-2015, 09:13 AM

Only tip I have is... Keep after it! It will come. There are many eureka moments in your future.

Enjoy the journey and... Welcome to the forum.
Old 08-07-2015, 09:16 AM