The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-16-2013, 03:56 PM

Question what next?

I started playing guitar two years ago -- I'm in my mid 50s, take a one hour private lesson once a week, and practice roughly one hour a day. I'm still very much a beginner, but I'm learning and I love the process. I had no musical background before I bought my guitar.

About a year ago I got a ukulele, and then somehow I got another one, and now, I look around the room and a second steel-string guitar has moved in.

Recently classical guitars have captured my attention. I know NOTHING about playing them and I play very little finger style (okay, none at all) on my guitars or ukes.

Here's my question. Would it make more sense to learn finger style on my ukes before moving to a classical instrument? Does the technique transfer at all between those instruments? Or should I plunge headfirst into the world of classical guitar?

Related to the above, I am also considering a guitalele instead of a classical guitar (I started out just looking for a small body guitar with a cedar top). Maybe that would be a better option for a first nylon stringed guitar?

(Wasn't sure if this should go in the nylon string thread, the other stringed instruments thread, or this one, so went with the most active one for my first post.)
Old 03-16-2013, 04:09 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishfret View Post
...Here's my question. Would it make more sense to learn finger style on my ukes before moving to a classical instrument? Does the technique transfer at all between those instruments? Or should I plunge headfirst into the world of classical guitar?
Hi fishfret...

First of all, Hello and Welcome to the forum! Glad you joined...and finally jumped in with a post.