The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 11-23-2022, 10:43 AM

Default Getting published! (writing; non-fiction)

Looks like I'm getting published. It's an excerpt from a larger work that I'm working on. The topic of the essay is "The role of ecosystem function in preventing catastrophic fire" from a human ecology perspective. It's part of a larger project I've been working on for a few years about the effective prevention of catastrophic fire. The larger piece explores the social, cultural, psychological and economic dimensions of effectively preventing catastrophic fire.

And the publisher based on that excerpt wants to explore book ideas with me. Cool and intimidating!
Old 11-23-2022, 11:19 AM

Congratulations! That’s quite a feather in your cap and a very worthy subject! Bask in the sunshine.
Old 11-23-2022, 12:08 PM
Charter Member

That's great - my congratulations!
I studied Landscape Ecology as part of my graduate degree - a truly fascinating and illuminating field. Keep it up - for all of our sake(s!)
Old 11-23-2022, 12:12 PM
Charter Member

Location: North of the Golden Gate, South of the Redwoods, East of the Pacific and West of the Sierras

Congratulations, ethanay! Getting published is an accomplishment worth crowing about. The fact that it is on such a critical and timely topic makes it special as well.
Best,
Jayne
Old 11-23-2022, 12:29 PM
Charter Member

Congrats from one published author to a soon-to-be another. You've completed the easy part; now you have sharpen your skills in what I call, the shameless art of self-promotion...
Martin D18 Ambertone
Martin 000-15sm
Old 11-23-2022, 09:04 PM

Thank you folks!