The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 04-19-2014, 09:18 PM

Default The violin/fiddle thread!

Don't see a lot of talk about violins around here so I thought I'd start a thread dedicated to it.

I'm just a beginner, I literally bought my first violin today. Hoping to teach myself without lessons. I won't have perfect form I'm sure and I probably won't excel the way I would if I took lessons but hopefully I can get good enough to show up a bluegrass jam and play one day.

I've got a question to start out the thread, when I bought my violin I could choose any of the student level bows I wanted and I think I made a mistake, my bow seems to already be warped, the hair touches the bow no matter how loose it is, which I've read isn't good. The bow was already right when I picked it up so I imagine it's been right for a long time

I'd like to get a better bow that's nice and lightweight that will stand up to being warped. But I'd like to spend no more than 100 or so. Any recommendations? I'm thinking of going with a glasses carbon fiber for about 100

Last edited by Teleman52; 04-19-2014 at 09:42 PM.
Old 04-20-2014, 02:46 AM

Violin is extremely hard to teach yourself. I recommend at least a month of weekly lessons to help smooth off the rough edges that all beginners have. It will be especially difficult if you are coming from guitar because the mechanics are so different.

The Eastman Cadenza 301 is right at $100.00. Not a bad bow. I have a Coda Prodigy which I think is a great beginner bow, but new they are out of your price range. I am actually selling my entire violin kit,including the bow, but not piece by piece so that does you no good.