The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 11-21-2020, 08:38 PM

Default Do you prefer to learn a song to completion

and then move on to another, or do you prefer to work on several at a time? I have a song I am working on that is taking forever mainly because it incorporates harmonica and I am totally new to playing a harmonica. But it's taking me forever to master the guitar, singing, and harmonica together. I have to memorize the harmonica licks to play them while playing the guitar at the same time. At least this early in my harmonica experience.

It is coming along though. I do love the challenge.
Old 11-21-2020, 08:55 PM
Charter Member

Usually work on one new thing at a time (probably because most new things are originals I am composing and that takes concentration). I may play through various old things while doing that.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 11-21-2020, 11:04 PM

I've taken the advice from Andre F. to learn less challenging pieces while working on a difficult piece....and I agree with the mentality. You don't want a piece to take it's toll on you. Very bad things can happen such as quitting guitar.
Old 11-22-2020, 12:41 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by HamrockGuitar View Post
If you have the ability to multitrack record the guitar and harp parts, you could play along with the recording, that might help.
Not at this time but I did find an excellent tutorial of the song that is strictly guitar which I can play the harp to in its various parts.
Old 11-22-2020, 10:32 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cecil6243 View Post