The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-02-2009, 02:34 PM

Default guitar instructor problems

So I have been playing off and on for about ten years and I have a good base and on most styles but nothing too advanced. I can finger pick a little bit and strum pretty well and just starting to flat pick. So my dilemma comes in when I started taking lessons. I wanted my instructor to assess where I was and go from there and teach me. I really like him and he can jam. But he is not doing a good job on formulating a plan and teaching me in a direction. It is kind of a week by week approach with not much direction. I find that I have to tell him what to teach me and it changes from week to week. I want to let him know I want and need to have curriculum. I just don't know how to go about it with out being a jerk or just go somewhere else for lessons. Any advise would be great.

2008 Cocobolo GA LTD Koa binding
2008 214ce
2004 Seagull S6
Old 07-02-2009, 02:45 PM

I've never taken guitar lessons. Do the people you guys have lessons with have any training as guitar teachers? Because as with anything, it's one skill to be able to do it, but a very different skill to teach it. I would imagine that a good guitar teacher should have a comprehensive knowledge of tutor materials, together with a range of approaches to facilitate learning.
Old 07-02-2009, 02:53 PM

If you're making it clear to him what your needs are and he isn't coming around, then it may be time to find a new teacher. As stated above, being a good player is one thing, being able to teach someone else to be a good player is completely different. While I fully understand getting semi-'attached' to someone and feeling guilty about walking away, you have to remember you're paying him for a service and if he can't deliver the goods, then you're wasting your time and money.
Old 07-02-2009, 03:04 PM

Quote: