The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 07-23-2018, 12:17 PM
AGF Sponsor

Default Advice on Quarter Sawn Backs and Sides

I have found a local source for some Maple, and some Black Walnut raw cut wood. What is an ideal length and width for quarter sawn wood for backs, and what is ideal for sides. The Black Walnut especially looks like it has a lot of figure in it. I know you need to let it dry properly, but how do you go about letting it dry? I am a novice builder, but I am thinking about how I might use the wood in the future as I gain skills, and tools. Thanks.
Clifford

Old 07-23-2018, 02:05 PM

Sides are about 5"x 32", backs are about 9"x 22". That's on the large end, unless you build jumbos. 4/4 or 6/4 thick is probably good, thicker if it is well quartered from a large enough tree. Allow a couple inches to cut off end checks after drying. Good luck, resawing is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you'll get. Looks like you have some pretty good chances from what I can see.
et al
Old 07-23-2018, 02:07 PM

Unfortunately those don't look long enough. I cut up a maple tree two years ago and am just about ready to start using it on a project. I cut the side drums to 40 inches and the back set drums to 26 inches. That gives plenty of room for end checking as it dries just in case. The drums were milled in the field with an Alaska mill chain saw and I basically just took out the center slab vertical grain sections. Then I ran those through my band saw into 1 in thick slabs to dry for at least a year. Pain the ends with latex paint and sticker in an area that has some ventilation.
Old 07-23-2018, 02:36 PM
AGF Sponsor