The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 03-10-2016, 04:32 AM

Default Help joining bookmatched plates

Hi to all,,

I am ready to join my first set of back plates (Sapele) and am stuck on which edges to join,,

Is there an rule of thumb for grain orientation ,should the grain converge toward the join or move away from the join?

the soundboard was clear where the grain was tighter,,but with this set ,not so sure,

Do I just go with what i prefere the look of or is there a "correct" way ?

the options,,A vs B

Am i over thinking this.. ?

Any advice would be great as its my first build and am just finding my feet,,so apologies for the basic question,,

thanks for your time,,

cheers
Old 03-10-2016, 06:23 AM

It is generally a matter of personal preference.

Remember, if you use a plane for straightening the seams, plane so you don't dig into or rip-out the grain.

Ned Milburn
NSDCC Master Artisan
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Old 03-10-2016, 07:37 AM

Thanks for the advice Ned,

I am just going to use sandpaper stuck to spirit level,,,,it worked out well for the spruce top,but imagine it will take a bit more effort with hard wood,,
Old 03-10-2016, 11:00 AM

for me i will try to place any defects into areas that will be cut out. also i'll orient the halves so that the grain runout is aligned with each other. this is usually seen as half of the back or top looking darker or lighter then the other half depending upon how the light falls on it and how you are viewing it. i'm sure i don't have the right word for this:

not always a concern with woods that have interlocking grain like sapele or mahogany, etc.. but it is something to be aware of and is very noticeable on your typical top woods under finish.
Old 03-10-2016, 05:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arie View Post