The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 08-12-2018, 01:12 PM

Default Do people hear the music or the sound?

I was at a gathering last night and as the first three notes of ABBA’s ‘Dancing Queen’ rang out over the PA, all the women jumped up and made for the dance floor. The song was recognised by all instantly.

However, later that evening, I was handed a guitar and asked to play something. Judging from the earlier reaction to the ABBA song I started playing an instrumental version of ‘Mama Mia’ (not my usual thing but you need to keep these things in reserve just in case). I was about 12 bars in before the same women from earlier recognised the tune.

It occurred to me that even though I was playing all the right notes (and in the right order), people don’t actually hear what you’re playing. Is it possible they hear and recognise the sound of the song rather than the music? Although the music is the same, the different instruments and arrangements from the original recording imprint that distinct sound on the song. When played on a solitary instrument the sound is different and people don't process it so quickly.

Either that or my playing is rubbish.

YouTube
Old 08-12-2018, 01:31 PM

Happens >>>>>>>>>> the time. You can nail the lyrical melody but that doesn't always work like you'd think. many times you actually have to let enough bars and/or measures go by before it sinks in. I play an instrumental version of Fernando and I've seen the lights on but nobody home in the audience at the opening of the melody so many times I now use it to entertain myself. That song had more air play and popularity at the USO clubs when it aired than any other. It's like a mental tattoo in my age group.
Old 08-12-2018, 01:34 PM

Yes, as your experiment shows, it's both factors. Which is the greatest percentage? Depends.