The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-10-2018, 09:26 PM
AGF Sponsor

Default A Guitar Pick Primer -- Please Participate.

Howdy, folks.

First, let me tell you what this thread is. It is an overview of the current state of the guitar pick, as I understand it.

A few weeks back several members asked me to post an informational thread containing a general overview of the pick industry -- where it’s been, where it is at present, where it’s headed. I thought they’d found my previous posts boring, but they assured me that they found it really interesting.

This fits who I am in the world. My day job is as a fully-tenured college English professor and I have always loved research, followed by imparting what I’ve learned to others. If you find this thread boring, please pass it by.

If you have any questions, or want to add some comments of your own, please don’t hesitate. We are a community; that’s what AGF is about.

Often you will find me recommending other products that have nothing to do with CLP. Why? The truth is, I want everyone to find the best pick for their budget and their playing style and ability. It’s my job to know what’s going on out there, so feel free to ask questions. I NEVER talk down any products or companies, only what might be the advantages or disadvantages of a certain material.

Many of you know certain as aspects of picks and playing better than me. I am, by necessity, a generalist, so please jump in to clarity a point, to make a correction, or to offer an alternative view.

THE PAST: HOW DID WE GET HERE?