The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 05-15-2022, 10:13 AM

Default Fret Placement for Just Intonation/Temperament

I am a retired engineer, and will, as a confession to the group and my dear loving wife, admit that sometimes I obsess about things that really don't matter in the big picture of life. But here we are...

As a side project, I've been trying to work out the fret positions for just intonation (more correctly called just tempered scale) fret spacing and note creation, which is based on mathematical harmonics rather than the current universally used even tempered scale. Frets 1 thru 5, fret 7, fret 11, and fret 12 come out dead on as fractions of the octave for a given string, as predicted by harmonic string theory (nodes, anti-nodes, and all that stuff from first year physics).

Frets 6, 8, 9, and 10, on the other hand, are driving me nuts. These represent the tritone, minor 6th, major 6th, and minor 7th for a given root note. Can anyone help me find the formulas for them?
Old 05-15-2022, 11:11 AM
Charter Member

I have build a few instruments in just intonation using Ptolemy's ratios to produce a fret placement calculator. But they have all been purely diatonic. Additionally, the instruments have been essentially single string melody instruments restricted to one key rather than chord playing multi-key capable instruments. I have simply played the melody against pure root and 5th drones. Note pairs blend beautifully as long as the strings providing those pairs as tuned to the same note, but you cannot fret a string tuned to a different note and expect it to blend. Also, the fret placement only really works for the mode for which it was calculated. So you cannot play a Dorian scale starting on the fret after the root fret if your frets are set for the Ionian scale. You can "just" get away with Mixolidian and Aeolian at a push.