The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 03-04-2021, 11:17 AM

Default Losing Bodyfat

About three weeks ago I embarked on my journey to lose fat.
I am 5’6 and I weighed a bit over 188. That is somewhat deceiving because I have been lifting free weights for two years now and have gained a around 5 lbs of muscle. That being said, I am down to 180.5.
I have totally eliminated sweets outside of occasional real fruit and limited my carbs. I have also stopped eating after the evening meal.
My pot gut is almost gone and I would like to get down to 175.
I’ve been doing abs three times a week as well.
I definitely feel and look better.
Anybody else getting ready for the warmer weather and looking and feeling better?

Martin D18
Gibson J45
Gibson J15
Fender Copperburst Telecaster
Squier CV 50 Stratocaster
Squier CV 50 Telecaster
Old 03-04-2021, 11:34 AM

This is an explanation of the PE diet. I have added muscle and lost fat over the last month of following it strictly. Down 6 lbs on the scale.

I have mostly followed it for a while, but never committed to cutting out the fat, or eating all the protein. This last month I really did. Cut out the full fat cheese. Used fat free greek yogurt instead of mayonnaise for salad dressing (yogurt, vineagre, a little chicken stock to get the consistency I want, and herbs). Dessert? A cup of nut milk, 10 frozen strawberries, and a scoop of chocolate protein powder blended into a delicious frozen dessert! Yes you need to start with a tasty low carb protein powder.

Anyway it has worked wonderfully. 1 gram of lower fat protein (Lean meat, fish, protein, eggs, fat free "fermented" dairy like yogurt, cottage cheese, etc.) for each pound of "desired" body weight. Not "I would like to get to down to 175" but "ideal" body weight.

Add low carb fruit (cucumber, tomatoes, some berries, etc) and greens.

Do your normal workout.