The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-21-2015, 09:27 AM

Default NGD: Alvarez Masterworks MD65

I had a separate thread asking about the MD65. The guitar finally arrived a couple of days ago. My first thoughts, having put in only about an hour playing it:

- The tuners sure are heavy. Hopefully they hold the tuning well because while I'd read about guitars that are headstock heavy before but this is my first time playing one. It's so heavy that it makes me want to change them, but I likely only would if they don't hold their tuning.

- I usually use a medium pick. In this case it sounded pretty shrill, which surprised me, as I expected a warm sound with the cedar top and large, dreadnought size. In switching to a heavy pick, it definitely warmed up the sound. Again, I'd never noticed such a big difference in pick thickness but it was very apparent in this case.

- Although it has a 1 3/4" nut width, the string spacing at the saddle feels pretty narrow. Maybe I'm just spoiled with my Epi, since the string spacing at the nut on it is great for fingerstyle. I probably won't do much fingerstyle on this guitar.

These are just my initial, first impressions. Time will tell, and I'm looking forward to what I've read about cedar tops opening up quickly compared to spruce. Since my main purpose for this guitar was to have a guitar (the Alvarez) for strumming, etc., while leaving my Epi mostly for bottleneck playing in open tunings.

(obligatory NGD pics forthcoming)
Old 02-21-2015, 11:42 AM

http://s292.photobucket.com/user/bri...tml?sort=4&o=0

with OHSC: http://s292.photobucket.com/user/bri...tml?sort=4&o=1

with its older brother: http://s292.photobucket.com/user/bri...tml?sort=4&o=2

Last edited by briluster; 02-21-2015 at 01:45 PM. Reason: trying to fix pics
Old 02-21-2015, 01:09 PM