The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 02-05-2020, 11:02 AM

Default Vintage watches

I have of late become fascinated by old mechanical watches! After acquiring some very old pocket watches, and wristwatches, I've had a chance to peer into their inner workings. What complexity and craftsmanship! I doubt there is anything being made today that will still work a century from now, save perhaps a hammer or anvil!
I'm curious, are there any others out there that have caught this timepiece bug?
Old 02-05-2020, 11:12 AM
Guest 33123

Why not combine your two interests?

https://www.martinguitar.com/guitars...lionth-guitar/
Old 02-05-2020, 11:18 AM

I've been collecting old pocket watches for many years. I concentrate on RR quality and Canadian particularly. Yes, I'm amazed at the quality of these pieces of mechanical wonder. I have ones that are over 100 years old and run within a few seconds a day correctly.

It's quite amazing when you start to realize that all those wheels have to work together for the hour, minute and second hands. And, then there is the mainspring that has to be wound and keep those wheels going at the correct speed as the mainspring looses its 'wind'. Amazing stuff.
Old 02-05-2020, 01:35 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by hat View Post
I have of late become fascinated by old mechanical watches! After acquiring some very old pocket watches, and wristwatches, I've had a chance to peer into their inner workings. What complexity and craftsmanship! I doubt there is anything being made today that will still work a century from now, save perhaps a hammer or anvil!
I'm curious, are there any others out there that have caught this timepiece bug?
I take exception to such a broad statement about EVERYTHING made today being of less quality/longevity as objects made in the past.