The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 07-31-2010, 12:57 AM

Default O'Brien Mortise & Tenon Neck/Body Join Jig

Hello. I'm new to the forum. I'm a luthier and guitar player. I had gotten into luthery after becoming disgusted at the cost of every guitar I seemed to want always started at around the $3,500.00 range.

I was looking at YouTube the other day when I'd seen a Luthier named Robert O-Brien who teaches at the "Red Rocks School of Luthery" (or a school very similarly named). Even so, he'd displayed his technique for joining Acoustic guitar necks to bodies and had a very simple looking jig the was in two parts. The first part was for cuttung the mortise in the body and would be very easy to built simply from sight. However, the tenon cutting section of the jig, for cutting the neck, was a bit more involved. I wouldn't even bother everyone if it weren't for the fact that Mr. O'Brien had a bar that indicated for him when he'd reached the perfect cutting angle; which he'd predetermined earlier in the video.

If anyone knows where I can obtain blueprints or any plans for this jig please let me know.

The video isn't difficult to find, the URL changes frequently or I wou,ld have simply pasted it here. However, if you go to YouTube (www.youtube.com) and perform a search for the "O'Brien Neck/Body Mortising Jig" it should bring you right to the video to which I'm referring.

Sincerest thanks,

and pleased to meet all of you.

Christopher S. Johnson -- Johnson's Custom Woodworking
(Luthier207)
Old 07-31-2010, 05:38 AM

(Disclaimer: I didn't/haven't watched that particular video, but Robbie's a great guy who I consider a friend.)

I believe AGF sponsor, and all around great guy/luthier Paul Woolson (Woolson Soundcraft) designed, or at least partially designed the jig.

Here's a few links that I believe are for something similar to what you're talking about.