The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Archtops

Old 07-29-2022, 05:13 AM

Default First Archtop for Jazz :) for a lefty.

Hi everyone hope we are all well recently I've been really enjoying learning some Wes Montgomery as I play with my thumb to n Charlie Christian as a beginner I've been learning on my epi les paul from 1999 and my Fender strat re issue and I've been on a total learning discovery about Jazz. Love listening to Chet Baker to.

Originally I was looking at vintage archtops like the none cutaway L5 dream guitar but out of my budget for a few years or an l7. Then I had a look at the L50 seen a few about at 2k ish gbp an Post war Epiphone Blackstone and Zeniths. N maybe fitting a floating pickup.

How does it upset the balance of the instrument converting them to left handed would it affect the top or the bracing etc as the braces made to different thickness in them or are any stand outs in the vintage era for converting to lefty.

The other option which I'm tending to lean towards is something modern I've grouped them into comparative price options.

Under 500
Ibanez AF-55L £350 lefty
Epiphone Zenith R/H masterbilt modern re issue £400
Epiohone Joe Pass £500 lefty second hand
Gretch New Yorker R/H Second hand modern £400
Godin RH 5th av acoustic R/H £400ish

Under 1000
Godin 5th avenue Kingpin lefty new £770
Epiohone Masterbilt Deluxe R/H Re Issue £700

Over 1000

D'angelico Exel Exl-1 Lefty 1500 usd new if I could find one seem really hard to find
Peerless monarch 17"
Heritage Eagle lefty mid 2000s 2k
Eastman 375 lefty £1200gbp
Another eastman if so which one ?

Vintage options all rh none cutaway
Epiphone Zenith post war £1500
Epiphone Blackstone £1500
Epiphone l50 £2-2500
Epi l48 £2k