The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 11-16-2004, 10:42 AM

Default explain why a note is the same but not exactly.

My friend only plays by tabs and I was going to give him a few lessons because he wants to solo on his own. I am going to teach him the pent. scale but I thought I would start real slow.

I am fairly new to guitar my self and would like some help to explain the Italic part of the lesson I am planning.

Any other comments or sugestions for the lesson would be great!

Basic Theory Lesson

Section 1- A Fine Place To Start?

Below we have the only 12 notes of music, Yes that’s right there are only 12. All the wonderful music in the world is made up of only these 12 notes.

notes: A,Bb,B,C,C#,D,Eb,E,E#,F#,G,G#

Don’t let the (b) or the (#) confuse you, we will get into what they mean shortly.

Each fret on the guitar when fretted (to push down a string to the freatbord) or played open (not fretting a note and just playing the string own) is creating one of the notes displayed above.

For example:

-The A string (the second string from the top) is called the A string because when played on its own it produces the A note.

When we tune it we tune it to the A note.

As you go down from the neck (the top of the guitar) on the A string (the second string from the top) the notes are as followed.

So the string by itself is an A, fret 1 is a Bb; fret 2 is a B and so on.

Hey look! It’s the same as above. It’s just the musical notes going down the string.

Once you reach the 12 fret on the A string the pattern starts again.

So the 13th fret on the A string is Bb and the 14th fret is B and so on.

OK! Try playing the 1st fret on the A string, then the 2nd fret one after another. Ok have you done this, great! Now play the 13 fret then the 14 fret one after another.

Wow, they sound the same; this is because they are the same note.