The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 07-17-2018, 10:35 PM

Default Looking to finally get a new bicycle

...and I have a couple of questions.

I've been riding a Trek 4900 for 16 years now and the crankshaft is shot. Over the years I switched from the original knobby tires to a smooth tread but on the same wide rims that the bike came with so that I could ride on gravel and paved trails.

Last year my wife bought a Trek Hybrid cycle with thinner tires and we went on a 40 mile ride (mostly on country roads with long inclines) and it was murder. I couldn't make headway on climbs and my legs nearly locked up several times on hills during the last 10 miles. Now we're going on another 40 mile ride in a couple of weeks and I think it's time to upgrade. My wife actually suggested that and I've been the one on the fence - but today after getting an estimate on an overhaul (nearly $400 to swap out the entire crankshaft) and trying a Trek Marlin 6 I may be changing my mind. That being said I have a couple of questions:

1: While I liked the feel of the Marlin 6 the components on my 4900 seem to be better. Is it worth it to look at the Marlin 7 (priced at $200 more) instead? I like a stiffer fork and the Marlin 6 seemed to be a bit spongy even when set to be firmer. I also felt that the shifters would not hold up as long as the stock ones on my 4900 did.

2: Is there another similar make and model other than a Trek that I should be looking at?