The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-24-2022, 07:20 PM

Default sharp edges on frets on treble side in upper register

Noticed that the edges of the frets on the treble side past the 15th fret are pretty sharp, like maybe they are lifting up or coming loose at the ends. Havent noticed this until I started playing some artificial harmonics up there and my nail catches on the sharp edges of a fee frets.

This is a Lowden and AFAIK there aren't any authorized repair folks near me. Though I will call Lowden to see who.might be near me (Raleigh Durham NC).

What's the typical fix for an issue like this?

Its pretty minor since otherwise its playing well.

Unrelated question - I have a humidifier going but my humidity is still under 40. Its around 30-35 or so. Without the humidifier it would be around 19. I usually keep my guitar in the case w two Oasis humidifiers in the sound hole but I have it out at least 5-7 hours a day to play. Wondering if its getting enough humidty. Its about 4 feet from the humidifier, as is my hydrometer.

I keep my humidifier on the floor...is it more effective to elevate it?

Thanks
Old 01-24-2022, 07:54 PM
Charter Member

When the fret edges start to peek out over the edge, it's almost always a humidity issue. Perhaps whatever is measuring the humidity isn't very accurate (that's a fairly typical issue with those devices). You can always file down those edges but I'd give that guitar a solid two weeks of proper humidification (in the 45-50 range) and see if the problem corrects itself.
2015 Circle Strings Parlor shedua/western red cedar
2009 Bamburg JSB Signature Baritone macassar ebony/carpathian spruce
2004 Taylor XXX-RS indian rosewood/sitka spruce
1988 Martin D-16 mahogany/sitka spruce

along with some electrics, zouks, dulcimers, and banjos.

YouTube
Old 01-24-2022, 07:54 PM