The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 12-23-2021, 07:11 AM

Default Help me chose please-CA OX or GX?

Hi, I've been dreaming of a CA guitar for many years and I am readying myself for the purchase. The local shops no longer carry them around me, so I can't do an actual playing comparison. I am reading up on the differences and the adjectives people use to describe the sound, and I'm watching as many youtube videos as I can.

I still don't fully understand what the OX is designed for and what the GX is designed for. Just based on sound on youtube videos, I'm leaning towards the OX, which surprises me, because just reading descriptions and reviews, I thought my preference would be the GX.

Thank you for help and guidance and for my very first post on this forum. Happy Holidays!
Old 12-23-2021, 08:27 AM
Charter Member

Having played neither, I am no help, but welcome to the AGF CF forums ! I'm sure a CA expert will be along shortly to help you !
Old 12-23-2021, 08:37 AM

Thank you John!
Old 12-23-2021, 08:45 AM

I haven't played either, so can't help there, but I can tell you a GXi is for sale on Kijiji in Fort McMurray Canada for $2000 CAD, or roughly $1600 USD. It was posted by GuitarLuva who was a frequent poster here but hasn't been on AGF for awhile.

Just an option for you to consider...
Old 12-23-2021, 10:00 AM

I’ve only played a Cargo for a short while but never the OX or the GX. There is a smoking deal on an OX at Music Go Round for $1200. I’m pretty sure you could flip it quickly if you tried it and found it wasn’t for you. Welcome to AGF!

https://www.musicgoround.com/product...coustic-guitar
Old 12-23-2021, 10:43 AM
Anticipation Junkie