The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 09-24-2013, 05:18 PM

Default Six months of 000-18 Marquis

Hi all,

I'm a relative newbie to acoustics in comparison to many on this forum but thought I'd share my thoughts on my 000-18 Marquis (essentially a 000-18GE) nearly six months after purchase. Apologies if I don't include enough technical terms

WHY:

Do I need a reason? Lol. I bought the guitar back in April after playing a friends Martin (a laminate model). Being mainly a strummer/flatpicker, I had been dabbling with fingerstyle and wanted a more balanced guitar to use for this than my Maton dreadnought.

TONE:

My wife and I had a baby a couple of months ago so I haven't had as much time as I would like to start breaking it in. Even so, this guitar sounded great right out of the box. The dry, crisp mahogany tone is amazing and sounds great both picking with bare fingers and strumming. Occasionally it sounds a little tight (especially on bends) but given it is just a baby with an Adi top I'm hoping it will open up over time. Being a big John Mayer fan, I've been playing plenty of his songs and this guitar really lends itself to that folk style of playing.

PLAYABILITY: