The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 04-09-2018, 08:57 AM

Default Letting go...How?

So, we moved into a smaller home as the kids have mostly moved out.
My guitar room has become a corner, and I’ve gone from four guitars to 10.

I’m trying to downsize the guitarsenal.
But only one guitar stands out as having little history with me.
My case queen, gets little play time. And is basically the best all laminate guitar ever made.
It’s also the guitar that my Dad (may he Rest In Peace) helped me buy the day I graduated from nursing school.
My solid body Acoustic was kind of a rescue, and it’s been Frankenstein’d into an ugly, but much better guitar. It’s also the last guitar I played for my mom before she passed away.
It goes like that for each guitar.

I’ve got one for sale, I call her “Stinky” as she belonged to a smoker before coming to me.
I had to have it “restored” as it had been defaced with a huge sticker on the face...and a long crack as well.
Both are fixed and the git is all polished up. It plays and sounds fantastic...still stinks. But it’s a heck of a guitar.
And that’s just three...
How do you let go? With little to no regrets?

Alvarez 5013
Alvarez MD70CE
Alvarez PD85S
Alvarez AJ60SC
Alvarez ABT610e
Alvarez-Yairi GY1
Takamine P3DC
Takamine GJ72CE-12-NAT
Godin Multiac Steel.
Journey Instruments OF660
Gibson G45
Old 04-09-2018, 09:19 AM

Honestly, unless you just literally have no space to store the guitars, then I'd keep them all and just not add any more. If you do need to get rid of them, then apply the "last in-first out" mentality.

First, identify the ones that you can't sell due to sentimental reasons. Let's say that turns out to be 6 of the 10. Take the 4 remaining, and start selling based on the newest in the collection. I'd venture to say that the newest guitars have the least amount of sentimental history, right???