The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 03-22-2018, 08:13 AM

Default Half hour vs hour lesson's

I want to start lessons with a guitarist and I'm trying to decide whether I'm better off with 4 weekly half hours lessons or two bi-weekly 1 hours lessons.
I feel like 1/2 hours lessons go by so quickly and I like to ask questions and it just seems to short to me. I wish I could afford to do four 1 hour lessons but at $50 for an hour it's too expensive for me.

How long do you take lessons for?
Old 03-22-2018, 08:19 AM

I'm a teacher.

For beginners, I think a half hour is fine. Most people tap out after 15 minutes or so of new information or so, and then there's 15 minutes of question time, or "practicing in front of the teacher." I also think going every week is important at the start.

For more advanced students, 1 hour, maybe even longer, less frequently is fine, because I'm not as worried about catching little technique things that'll pop up and haunt the player later.

http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz
Old 03-22-2018, 08:46 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by banditcosmo View Post
I want to start lessons with a guitarist and I'm trying to decide whether I'm better off with 4 weekly half hours lessons or two bi-weekly 1 hours lessons.
I feel like 1/2 hours lessons go by so quickly and I like to ask questions and it just seems to short to me. I wish I could afford to do four 1 hour lessons but at $50 for an hour it's too expensive for me.

How long do you take lessons for?
Hi Banditcosmo…

Are you a beginner, or are you more advanced? I think a modern approach to lessons is to take a series of lessons to advance your playing, and then take the time to work it into your brain/fingers.