The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-25-2019, 10:10 AM

Default Dilemma - Buying my first acoustic guitar

Hi there,

My name is Thomas and i'm new as of today on this acoustic guitar forum. I've been playing the bass for a couple years now (an Ibanez SR1200-VNF for the ones interested) And I want to start picking up a second instrument.

And this second instrument has got to be the acoustic guitar!
I already did some in depth research on what I need for my playstyle, budget and sound. And in the end I narrowed my search down to two viable options:

1. The Sigma Guitars 000MC-15E+

2. The Ibanez AVC9CE-OPN Artwood Vintage

Both are really similar guitars, the Sigma slightly cheaper (about 120 euros) than the Ibanez, but both viable options.

Now the problem is that where I'm living, both aren't in stock anywhere. I can order them but that'll mean i'd have to buy both of them to compare.

The Ibanez brand i'm familiar with because of my bass (which I love), but that won't necessarily mean their accoustic guitars are awesome too. And the Sigma brand im totally unfamiliar with. Does anyone have a suggestion for me or any history with both guitars that will help me with choosing one or the other?

Hoping someone could shed some light into this matter
Old 02-25-2019, 10:12 AM

If you can snag a Yamaha FG800, they are nice; they tend to be very consistent even if you have to order it without trying it out.
Old 02-25-2019, 11:15 AM

I did not try either of these...
And you may know that two guitars built the same days by the same guys may not sound the same. So you have to try each unless you find an amazing deal online and buy both to sell one of them later on.
My two cents judgement would favor the better known Ibanez company over the Sigma though some guys say they love their Sigma...
Old 02-25-2019, 11:33 AM