The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-08-2019, 12:36 PM
PTony PTony is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 918
Default Preferred Bridge For Electromatic...

Title says it all...

Looking for a replacement bridge for the trash stock TOM on my new 5230T with B-50. The rattles are the main issue. I’ll be installing a “BiggsFix” to reduce string break.

I don’t think that I want a bar bridge. I’ve read the ABM2400’S are great and don’t tone suck. In addition, I saw someone mention that Reverend makes a decent roller for cheap but I can’t seem to find the radius for that bridge...?

The 5230 has a 12 inch radius neck. Any suggestions would be helpful. Thx!

PT

Last edited by PTony; 02-10-2019 at 02:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2019, 10:10 PM
Lacking Talent Lacking Talent is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 88
Default

The Compton IS a bar bridge, as is its "rival," Tru-Arc.

The Golden Age roller bridge from StewMac has a 12" radius.

The Reverend, actually a Wilkinson/Gotoh, has a 14" radius, which you might want to consider as potentially a better match for your 12" radius fretboard.

If price is no object and you're committed to a roller, get the Schaller ABM 2400.

Best of luck!

Last edited by Lacking Talent; 02-08-2019 at 10:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2019, 11:04 PM
PTony PTony is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 918
Default

Appreciate the info...

Question, why would I use a 14” radius bridge on a 12” radius board? Forgive my ignorance. I thought I’d want to match radius?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2019, 03:31 AM
Howard Emerson Howard Emerson is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Huntington Station, New York
Posts: 5,971
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PTony View Post
Appreciate the info...

Question, why would I use a 14 radius bridge on a 12 radius board? Forgive my ignorance. I thought Id want to match radius?
Because almost all fingerboards are compound radius. They get 'flatter' the further up you go.

14" is flatter than 12".

HE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-2019, 01:42 PM
Lacking Talent Lacking Talent is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PTony View Post
Appreciate the info...

Question, why would I use a 14 radius bridge on a 12 radius board? Forgive my ignorance. I thought Id want to match radius?
Howard Emerson is absolutely right; here's more detail:

http://www.tdpri.com/threads/matchin...-radius.83230/

http://www.kieselguitarsbbs.com/viewtopic.php?t=27799
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-2019, 03:55 PM
PTony PTony is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 918
Default

Thanks Gents! I learned something new. Much appreciated. Ill keep that in mind as I search.
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=